Putin’s new decree abolishes visa-free travel for ‘unfriendly’ citizens

A decree restricting the issuance of visas to citizens of countries that Moscow considers “unfriendly” was signed on Monday by Russian President Vladimir Putin as a “response” to sanctions imposed by the West in connection with the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Putin instructed the Russian Foreign Ministry to send notifications to the diplomatic missions of the European Union and the countries listed below about the suspension of a number of clauses of the visa facilitation agreements.

The decree, which comes into force today, Monday, April 4, cancels the simplified visa regime to Russia for citizens of some EU countries, as well as Norway, Switzerland, Denmark and Iceland, reports capital.grciting Reuters.

The document was published on the official Internet portal of legal information of the Russian Federation.

At the same time, the decree provides the Russian Foreign Ministry and other state bodies the right to decide on the imposition of restrictions on the entry of “foreign citizens and stateless persons who commit hostile acts against Russia, its citizens or its legal entities“.

Last month, the Russian government approved a list of unfriendly countries, which included the US, Canada, the UK and countries EUand also Ukraine.

Source link

High-quality journalistic work cannot be free, otherwise it becomes dependent on the authorities or the oligarchs.
Our site is solely funded by advertising money.
Please disable your ad blocker to continue reading the news.
Best regards, editors