May 27, 2024

Athens News

News in English from Greece

Holidays 2024: what dates are three-day weekends on?


Despite the fact that the work week has not yet begun, many are already trying to look at the calendar to find out when the weekends (especially three-day ones) will be in the new year 2024.

Total in 2024 4 three-day days, all of which fall on Saturday, Sunday and Monday. The biggest holiday of Orthodoxy, Easter, will be celebrated on May 5th. Detailed dates of holidays and, accordingly, weekends:

  • New Year’s Day: Monday, January 1, 2024
  • Epiphany: Saturday, January 6, 2024
  • Clean Monday: March 18, 2024
  • March 25: Monday, March 25, 2024
  • May Day: Wednesday, May 1st.
  • Holy Spirit Day: Monday, June 24, 2024
  • August 15 “Assumption of the Virgin Mary”: Thursday, August 15, 2024
  • October 28: Monday, October 28, 2024

Easter 2024

  • Good Friday: May 3, 2024
  • Holy Saturday: May 4, 2024
  • Easter Sunday: May 5, 2024
  • Easter Monday: May 6, 2024

Total in 2024 4 three-day days, all of which fall on Saturday, Sunday and Monday. The first three days are on “Clean Monday” (Καθαρά Δευτέρα), the second – on March 25 (25η Μαρτίου), the third – on the Day of the Holy Spirit (Αγίου Πνεύματος) and the fourth – on October 28, the anniversary of the “OHI Day” “(28 Οκτωβρίου, επέτειο του “ΟΧΙ”).

Three-day weekend:

  1. From March 16 to 18 (Saturday, Sunday, Monday): Clean Monday.
  2. March 23-25 ​​(Saturday, Sunday, Monday): Feast of the Annunciation of the Virgin Mary, anniversary of the 1821 Revolution.
  3. June 22-24 (Saturday, Sunday, Monday): Holy Spirit Day.
  4. October 26-28 (Saturday, Sunday, Monday): anniversary of “OCI Day”.



Source link

Verified by MonsterInsights