February 3, 2023

Athens News

News in English from Greece

Croatia joined the euro and Schengen from today

Croatia has joined the euro and Schengen as of today, becoming the 20th member of the eurozone.

The country has joined the zone where the free movement of people and goods is allowed. These are two important milestones for the Balkan country, which joined the European Union about ten years ago.

At midnight Saturday, Croatia said goodbye to the local currency kuna and became a member of the eurozone. In doing so, it became the 27th state to join the Schengen area, where more than 400 million people can move freely without internal border checks.

The Schengen area includes the following countries: Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Iceland, Italy, Austria, Greece, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Poland, France, Sweden, Germany, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, Switzerland, Denmark, Czech Republic, Hungary and Estonia.

Source link