What is in the sixth package of sanctions against the Russian Federation from the EU

High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs Josep Borrell spoke about the content of the sixth package of sanctions that the European Union introduces against Russia.

According to BB.LV, referring to Borrell’s statement, another sanctions package due to the Russian invasion of Ukraine includes restrictions on oil imports. As it became known earlier, Hungary, Austria and Slovakia withdrew their right to veto the embargo EU for Russian oil.

In addition, the sanctions will affect the financial sector – a number of banks will be disconnected from the SWIFT payment system, including Sberbank. As you know, on March 2, the European Union activated the decision to shut down seven banks – Rossiya and Otkritie, VTB, Promsvyazbank, Novikombank, VEB.RF, Sovcombank. From the same date, a ban on the sale, supply, transfer or export of euro banknotes to Russia came into force.

One of the points of the new package is sanctions “for disinformation”. The European Union, according to Josep Borrell, will draw up a list of persons involved in the dissemination of false information. The restriction package will be submitted to the EU Council for approval. The decision is likely to be made this week.

Source link