EU borders expand – 2 more countries will become members of the bloc

A consensus was reached in Brussels on the enlargement of the European Union. In the near future, North Macedonia and Albania will become EU members, having fulfilled the necessary conditions for this.

There is no information on this matter on the official resources yet, but the Brussels correspondent of Radio Liberty Rikard Jozwiak on Tuesday reported:

“White smoke! We have conclusions about EU enlargement – unlike last year! North Macedonia and Albania.”

In September, Angela Merkel, the former German chancellor, said the two countries had met all the conditions for starting EU membership negotiations, but Bulgaria vetoed. Head of the European Parliament David Sassoli called for the admission of the Western Balkans to the European Union:

“Enlargement can bring great benefits to the region itself and to all of Europe, helping us to bring stability, prosperity and peace to the continent.”

Albania and North Macedonia are officially candidate countries, and membership negotiations are ongoing with Montenegro and Serbia.

Source link

High-quality journalistic work cannot be free, otherwise it becomes dependent on the authorities or the oligarchs.
Our site is solely funded by advertising money.
Please disable your ad blocker to continue reading the news.
Best regards, editors