EU membership for Western Balkan countries no longer “shines”

Following desire cancel visa-free regime for third countries, the European Union changed its mind about accepting the Balkan countries into its union. informs:

“The European Union can no longer guarantee the future membership of the six Western Balkan countries in the union, reports Reuters. According to the agency, this applies to Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, North Macedonia and the self-proclaimed republic of Kosovo.”

The member states disagree on the integration of these countries into the European Union. For example France, the Netherlands and Denmark are afraid of a situation similar to Bulgaria and Romania. Their acceptance into the EU caused a sharp increase in the level of migration to the UK, which, in turn, worsened relations between the EU and London.

However, not all European countries support this position. Austria, Croatia, Italy and Slovenia are in favor of the enlargement of the European Union.

As our publication reported, the EU raised the issue of canceling the visa-free regime for citizens of Moldova, Georgia, Ukraine and the states of the Western Balkans. Some EU countries are unhappy with violations of the rules of visa-free travel by these countries. Their citizens exceed the terms of their possible stay in the European Union and submit applications for asylum, which are not substantiated in any way. The document was released during the visit of Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission, to the countries of the Western Balkans on 27 September.

Source link

High-quality journalistic work cannot be free, otherwise it becomes dependent on the authorities or the oligarchs.
Our site is solely funded by advertising money.
Please disable your ad blocker to continue reading the news.
Best regards, editors